Independent Video Titles Ip Man 3, The Infiltrator, The Wailing, O.J.: Made in America, and The Carol Burnett Show: Carol’s Favorites Honored with Home Entertainment Awards

Independent Home Entertainment Awards 2017 LR WebbFisherHemesathCoylePfardrescherNickersonDouglas-web

L-R: Bob Webb/Ingram Entertainment, Mark Fisher/EMA, Tom Hemesath/Time Life, Dan Coyle/Cinedigm, Jason Pfardrescher/Well Go USA, Steve Nickerson/Broad Green Pictures, Cameron Douglas/Fandango

ENCINO, CA (March 29, 2017) … The Entertainment Merchants Association (EMA) today announced the following winners of its 2017 Independent Home Entertainment Awards:

     Sell-Through Title of the Year from an Independent Studio

          Ip Man 3Well Go USA

     Rental Title of the Year from an Independent Studio

          The InfiltratorBroad Green Pictures

     Direct-to-Video/Limited Release Title of the Year from an Independent Studio

          The Wailing, Well Go USA

     Documentary/Special Interest Title of the Year from an Independent Studio

          O.J.: Made in America, Cinedigm

     Hall of Fame Inductee (recognizing a title that continues to perform well year-after-year)

          The Carol Burnett Show: Carol’s Favorites, Time Life/WEA

“The winners of this year’s Independent Home Entertainment Awards show the impressive variety of quality content in the independent video marketplace,” noted Mark Fisher, President and CEO of EMA stated, “We are pleased to give them the recognition they deserve.”

Carol Burnett declared, “I’m thrilled that the Carol Burnett Show has been honored by the EMA. As I’ve been working on the home video releases with Time Life it’s been fun to re-live the shows from sooo many years ago. The best part is sharing the shows with new audiences and I thank the home entertainment retailers across the country for helping spread the word!”

Presenting the awards were Cameron Douglas, VP – Content, Fandango, and Bob Webb, President & CEO, Ingram Entertainment. Accepting the awards on behalf of their respective companies were: Steve Nickerson, President, Home Entertainment, Broad Green Pictures; Dan Coyle, SVP, Sales, Cinedigm; Tom Hemesath, VP, Retail Sales, Time Life; and Jason Pfardrescher, SVP, Theatrical-Digital, Well Go USA.

EMA’s Home Entertainment Awards winners were selected from a list of nominations by a vote of EMA retail and distributor members. The nominations reflect the rental and sell-through success of the title in both physical and digital formats.

The awards were given out during EMA’s 2017 Independent Product Market (IPM), held March 28-29 at the Marriott Marina del Rey in Marina del Rey, California. IPM is the premiere invitation-only hosted buyer event offering two-days of pre-scheduled meetings and networking opportunities for leading independent studios and the industry’s largest buyers. 

Copyright 2018, Entertainment Merchants Association
EMA - 11304 Chandler Blvd., #6339, N. Hollywood, CA 91603 - email